Permanent Commission of the FIDE for Chess Composition (PCCC) The International Chess Composition Union (ICCU)

PCCC 50th Anniversary Composing Festival Announcement

To commemorate the 50th anniversary of the PCCC (which took place not long ago) 9 composing tourneys are hereby announced, in the following sections:

- Twomovers (Judge: Yakov Rossomakho, Russia)
- **Threemovers** (Judge: Don Smedley, England)
- Moremovers (Judge: Hans-Peter Rehm, Germany)
- **Studies** (Judge: Harold van der Heijden, Netherlands)
- Selfmates (2 to 5 moves) (Judge: Hartmut Laue, Germany)
- **Helpmates** (2 or 3 moves) (Judge: Michal Dragoun, Czech Republic)
- Fairies (of all kinds and length, testable by the usual solving programs) (Judge: Tadashi Wakashima, Japan)
- Shortest proof games (SPGs) (Judge: Andrej Frolkin, Ukraine)
- **Retros (excluding SPGs)** (Judge: Andrej Kornilov, Russia)

There is a common theme for all sections, as follows:

At least one pinning move and one unpinning move are required, which may occur at any phase or be divided between phases (thematically, a single phase is enough, but more than one phase is allowed). "Pin" means that the move of the pinned piece is illegal due to the self exposure of the King to an immediate capture. The pinning may be partial, meaning that the pinned piece is still able to move in a limited way (e.g., along the pin-line).

Director: **Dmitrij Baibikov**

Entries should be submitted **via e-mail only**, before **August 10th 2010** to the director's address: dmitrij_baibikov@mail333.com

This Composing Festival is announced by the decision of the PCCC/ICCU Presidium, taking benefit of the good atmosphere and the recent support promised by the FIDE. In view of that, prizes will be allocated for each section (possibly \$300-\$400 per section).

The awards will be published on the PCCC/ICCU website; a final booklet is intended.

Please forward this announcement (ASAP!) to all composers in your countries, and reprint it in your magazines and websites.

Good luck to all!

PCCC/ICCU President

U. Auner